Triple Treat for Lindorff – Bathurst Motor Festival Review

VICTORIAN Travis Lindorff  in his Rowse Motors/Pakenham Tyres entry claimed a hat-trick of victories in the Australian United Saloon Car class to claim the Ashley Cooper Memorial Trophy at the Bathurst Motor Festival meeting at Mount Panorama over the Easter weekend.

A 55-car-field provided plenty of action over the weekend, with the competitors that regularly take part in the National Super Six Touring Car Series, dominating the proceedings across the weekend.

West Australian Garry Hills placed his Performance West backed Holden Commodore VT (Rowse Motors engineered) on pole with a 2:38.4404 in a red flagged marred qualifying session, besting the efforts of Queenslander Coleby Cowham in the Escape Energy Ford Falcon AU and Lindorff in the Pakenham Tyres VT Commodore.

A post-race decision saw the grid determined by the times set in practice, leaving an all-Queensland-all-Ford Falcon AU top three of Ashley Jarvis, Cowham and Kane Baxter-Smith.

Lindorff came through from fifth, after the top four all experienced offs, to take the first race victory of the weekend, beating Hills and current South Australian Saloon Car champion Wayne King in his Morphett Vale Garage Holden Commodore VT to the chequered flag.

Lindorff went back-to-back in race two, finishing ahead of the battling duo of King and Hills. There was plenty of moving and shaking in the field throughout the race with Queenslander Craig Campbell steering his Campbell Motorsport Holden Commodore VT past 18 cars in one lap of the 6.213 kilometre circuit.

With the weather conditions easing on Sunday, competitors relished the chance to race around the famed tarmac in the dry.

Lindorff went onto complete his clean sweep in the finale, with Hills and King swapping positions on the podium. Plenty of racers made the most of the dry conditions including Cowham, who passed 35 cars on his way from 48th to 13th place.

Race 1

1. Travis Lindorff 3:12.9757* [VIC]
2. Garry Hills 3:13.8701 [WA]
3. Wayne King 3:13.9571 [SA]
*Fastest Lap Time – Travis Lindorff 3:12.9757

Race 2

1. Travis Lindorff 3:01.6901 [VIC]
2. Wayne King 3:01.6221* [SA]
3. Garry Hills 3:05.7494 [WA]
*Fastest Lap Time – Wayne King 3:01.6221

Race 3

1. Travis Lindorff 2:38.4354 [VIC]
2. Garry Hills  2:38.2195* [WA]
3. Wayne King 2:38.3022 [SA]
*Fastest Lap Time – Garry Hills 2:38.2195


© 2024 Rowse Motors Service Centre Warragul | Design Theme by: D5 Creation | Powered by: WordPress